Tina White December Member of the Month

Tina is a 59-year-old retiree from Dick Blick.

Q: What got you started working out?
A: After complications with a knee replacement surgery in 2007, and walking with a cane since 2013, I was unable to walk more than 100 feet without becoming very winded and lower back pain. I wanted to feel better & lose weight, now that I’m retired from my desk job.

Q: How many days per week do you typically work out? What groups are you a part of?
A: 3X at semi private training.

Q: What’s your favorite exercise?
A: Various barbell exercises!

Q: What’s your favorite post-workout meal/snack?
A: Fiber one protein bar

Q: What do you find most challenging about working out?
A: It took me time to build up stamina, and I struggled with some of the exercises, especially on the floor.

Crushing KB Deadlifts

Q: What keeps you motivated to work out regularly?
A: Feeling and moving better, I don’t get as “winded” as I did before, and actually walked through Aldi’s last week. Working up to shop HyVee without a motorized cart.

Q: What advice do you have for someone who’s thinking about getting started in the gym?
A: Start small, break your goals down, and don’t freak out when looking at the scale.

Q: What is something you couldn’t do when you started, that you can do now?
A: There are several things that stick out: I can finish most sessions with the others and not fall behind or not finish at all; I have more stamina whether walking or just standing in place; and overall flexibility is so different.

Q: What fitness accomplishment are you most proud of?
A: I started July 5th and I’m still coming! I’ve also lost more weight so far than I ever have before (I normally just added 5lbs every 2-3 years and never really lost before).

Q: What goals are you working on now?
A: Just this week I started 30 minutes of activity at home on at least 2 non training days, and working on floor exercises (or getting up & down which has been very difficult since knee surgery).

Q: Tell us a random fact about yourself that people might not know:
A: My Mom was born & raised in London, England and moved to the US at age 22. I still have aunts & cousins in London, Hong Kong & New Zealand.

Q: What’s your favorite thing about working out at The Strength Collective?
A: The people, both the staff and other clients. The encouragement I’ve received has been very motivating.

Tags: No tags

Comments are closed.